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Bridge
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One day to go

An earlier finish tomorrow, followed by prizes,

photos and packing up. One wonders whether

the ANC will return here in seven or eight year's

time?

With five matches left in the Open Butler, the

leading pairs are

Jessica BRAKE - Shane HARRISON and

Avi KANETKAR - George KOZAKOS.

True to form, they were the NS & EW winners of

Stage One, five days in the distant past.

Leading the Mixed are

Maurits VAN DER VLUGT - Dagmar NEUMANN.

In fact, they actually missed qualifying by 0.1

VPs and are playing now because one pair above

them had to pull out.

In both events, the top nine (yes nine!) eligible

pairs get Playoff Points so make sure you don't

come last!

ANC Timetable

Thu 18 TBIB Open Butler S3 10 & 1.30

Mixed Butler S2

Paul Lavings Swiss B

Yesterday's winners

It's been a good fortnight for the Blues.

See them in their blazers tomorrow.

More GOLD if you prefer

A Mariana tweet

An anonymous scam caller said, “I have all

your passwords.” I grabbed a pencil and pa-

per and said, “Thank God!  What are they?”



Open Stage 3 after 5 of 9 matches

1 Jessica Brake - Shane Harrison 82.19

2 Avinash Kanetkar - George Kozakos 70.77

3 John Mcmahon - Charles Mcmahon 61.17

4 Tania Lloyd - Hugh Grosvenor 58.08

5 Tony Nunn - Paul Dalley 57.85

6 Axel Johannsson - Kate Mccallum 54.90

7 Joachim Haffer - Philip Markey 53.36

8 Ella Jacob - Jenny Thompson 48.65

9 Kevin Skoropada - Moss Wylie 46.07

10 George Stockham - Alexander Hewat 26.96

Mixed Stage 2 after f of 9

1 MauritsVanDerVlugt -DagmarNeumann 70.79

2 Nicoleta Giura - Nick Hughes 63.05

3 Kevin Steffensen - Carolyn Miller 61.33

4 Michele Tredinnick - Michael Courtney56.34

5 Jonathan Free - Mimi Packer 55.97

6 Warren Lazer - Pauline Gumby 53.07

7 Sandra Richman - Andrew Richman 50.99

8 Trevor Fuller - Val Biltoft 45.76

9 Paula Mcleish - David Mcleish 35.37

10 Stephen Mendick - Elizabeth Havas 30.86

Paul Lavings Swiss B leaders

1 Jane Lennon - Simon Hinge 75.73

2 Kimberley Zhao - Alan Cransberg 72.07

3 Phil Halloran - Frank Hardiman 64.96

4 David Weston - Julian Foster 64.91

5 Philip Hocking - Cathy Hocking 64.17

6 Bill Nash - James Wallis 63.75

7 Kitty Muntz - Leigh Gold 62.20

8 Manda Labuschagne - Chris Depasquale 59.90

9 Alison Hanson - Rex Hanson 59.07

10 Therese Demarco - Pam Morgan-King 57.43

A Ruling

Here's a ruling we received. We can make 2NT

but we were defending 1[/W. Don't ask.

Anyway we managed to get five tricks, when

these four cards remained, with dummy on lead:

]A6
[–
}–
{K9 Dummy

]QJ ]K73
[– [K
}– }–
{J7 {–

]T98
[–
}–
{8

Declarer faced his cards and said "I'll give you the

]A."  Nobody said anything for a while.

Then I said. "I can win the ]A and lead a club."

The director was called and went away to chat

with his colleagues. They allowed the claim.

When I lead the {9, does declarer get a chance

to reassess and realise the claim was shonky?

Yes and No. If the blockage issue didn't occur to

him at trick nine, why should it become apparent

at trick 10?

How does declarer know that the {K and {8

aren't swapped, when dummy has to ruff the {9?

Yes there were strong inferences in the auction

and the play but is declarer allowed to make

them?



Match 1 of finals

Surprisingly, only two of 10 in the finals bid 3NT

here and they both made it.

After one top spade, South has to find the dia-

mond switch. Not so easy. Partner could easily

have [AQJ or AQT, when a heart switch is

needed.

Common auctions were
WEST NORTH EAST SOUTH

no 1{ 2]

X 3] 5{ end

Seven of 10 bid this slam. Only one took the

spade finesse. "Queen-nine are always double-

ton".

Note that if West has ]Qxx and {xxxx, you might

still make by pitching all of dummy's diamonds on

your clubs.

Everyone was in 4[ here. Seven did well to make

it. Say West leads a trump. You need the black

kings to be with West and probably 3-3 dia-

monds.

A diamond to the king is okay. East will return a

club. You rise ace to continue diamonds. Even if

West unblocks the }J, you are still okay.

East can't return a club. That would endplay West

to lead away from the ]K. So East leads a spade.

You hop ace, cross to dummy in hearts to pitch

the {5 on the 13th diamond. Ruff a club then lead

up to dummy's ]Q.

I think some of the defenders may have been

helpful.

Round 4

The two pairs who bid 7] here can consider

themselves unlucky. It's a good spot if trumps are

2-1 and a decent shot against 3-0, provided you

don't get over-ruffed in clubs. Sigh.



17 top tricks here, yet four out of 10 played 6].

Shame, Shame!

It's easy enough if either player can show a solid

suit, upon which partner can apply RKC

Blackwood.

Would 2{ - 3] show that? Or 2{ - 2] - 4[?

Match 5

I felt quite chuffed picking the }Q to make 5[ but

every table in the Mixed played 5[ and every

declarer made 11 tricks.

Four of 10 bid to this icy 6[. After

WEST NORTH EAST SOUTH

no no

1{ 2} 2[ no

it's hard stay out. Either splinter and push on over

a sign-off or even a direct Exclusion Blackwood

5}.

WEST NORTH EAST SOUTH

1[ 4] ?

Should South have a go at the 5-level or meekly

concede -620 as six out of 10 did?

"It's a bidder's game."



Late night copy from Michael …

On this deal, only three declarers made 5[x.

One in the open Butler; one in the Mixed Butler;

one in the Swiss pairs A.

Joan Butts in the Open Butler received the lead

of the ]A, as did Therese DeMarco in the SPA,

and both assembled 11 tricks relatively easily.

At my table Mauritz van der Vlugt led the {K (for

count) Dagmar Neumann guessed it was from

the ace and pitched a spade.

Now perhaps a diamond switch will prevail (with

East ruffing any club from dummy).

A club continuation will fail. East ruffs to

uppercut - but declarer succeeds by establishing

clubs! Overruff, then [A; spade ruff, club ruff, di-

amond to dummy, club ruff (setting up the suit)

then pitch spades on diamonds and the top club..

Mauritz tried the [K at trick two - [A, spade ruff,

three top diamonds discarding a spade; club

from dummy ruffed with Easts remaining trump -

but now I threw my last spade and claimed.

A diamond (count, as partner requested) discard

might lead West to shift to a diamond. Then 5[

must fail.

At all other tables (9 in both Butlers) declarer

failed on a top club lead. Presumably because

East ruffed and returned a trump, but there is no

way of telling. There is no record of play… Once

again, as after (a) contracted illness (b) acci-

dents travelling (c) insufficient bids (d) revokes - I

must observe - THAT WOULDN'T HAVE

HAPPENED IF WE PLAYED ONLINE.


